A Letter To My Grandma

602763_10152100577444186_1684923876_n
Today you went to Heaven.

We are all happy for you. I can not imagine what JOY you are feeling. You left the cold winter and entered bright and shining streets of gold. How beautiful it must be. I am so happy for you. I can not wait to sit there with you and talk to Jesus. Our Lord + Savior.

I miss you. I am SO THANKFUL for the letters we shared this past year. I am so thankful to call you my friend. To have shared life with you in that special way.

I remember your shining smile at the 60th wedding anniversary. I remember the trips to the nursing home. Singing hymns to the elderly. I remember the envelopes and stamps you sent me so that I would be able to send out a newsletter to the family. I remember you painting my nails at your dining table. It was bubblegum pink. No one ever painted my nails. I’ve cherished that memory for years and forever will.

You were selfless. Loving. & Strict. I remember you were the one who told me.. “First Wed. Then Bed.”

I am so thankful for everything you were to our family. A loving wife. Mother. Grandmother. Great-Grandmother. Friend. But most of all.. A Christian woman. Who earnestly LOVES THE LORD.

I can’t believe you are gone. Because in my heart your presence is so very real. I’m talking to you every minute. Can you hear me? Can you see me? Do you see my tears? I would have liked to held your hand. To tell you I love you. But now I trust + know God will hold your hand for me. I hope + pray every day that He tells you how much we love you + how we look forward to seeing you again.

So now we are going through the process of reading the cards + the letters. Pulling out the pictures. Holding on to the quilts. Replaying all the memories.

Your love is all around us. + We are so thankful for that Grandma.

I do not want to say Goodbye. I don’t think I will. So for now, I will tell you I love you. + I can not wait to see you again.
A Letter To My Grandma
1011507_10152070874624186_163553788_n

3 thoughts on “A Letter To My Grandma

  1. This is beautiful. So much power and love in such a tiny lady! It’s wonderful to read all of these great memories.

  2. Beautifully written Deondra….the picture of Grandpa and Grandma holding hands is “priceless” Life is “priceless” We never know when God will allow us to go home…..may we all be faithful and leaning on him. Love you!

  3. Grandma showed me this picture just a few weeks ago with a huge smile on her face…so precious! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

